Is that Freedom Rock…

…turn it up!

412-xpeh8-l

 

I realize that by typing that quote I have dated myself as a child of the 80’s.  I spent my childhood, and current adulthood, watching way too much television loaded with  this great commercial.

With the extended duration of runs in this training plan, music is a necessity.  While “big-time” marathons and the USTAF officially outlaw headphones and music, it is almost a requirement for ultrarunning.

As of this writing, the favorite song in our house is “The Sound of Silence” by Disturbed.  This is ironic coming from a 5-year-old that can’t be silent for more than 30 seconds.  Coincidentally, this is a great running song is it starts slowly and builds to a dramatic ending.  Great for that last half mile sprint!

While the last half-mile is important, the bulk of the run has to be filed with with something to numb the pain and dull the boredom.  For tis task, I turn to podcasts.  My listening tasks are eclectic so I enjoy listening to comedy, history and science.  I divide my download between “A Mediocre Time with Tom and Dan“, “Stuff You Should Know“, and “Freakonomics“.

I hope I have sparked something that may add to your listening pleasure.

 

Leave a Reply

