Burnout…not just an on-the-job thing

 

A psychological syndrome involving emotional exhaustion, depersonalization, and a diminished sense of personal accomplishment (Maslach, 1982)

I am a burnout researcher. My December 2015 dissertation focused on burnout in the workplace. I have discovered, burnout is not just an on-the-job-thing! When training for a 100 mile race, it’s important to log a whole of miles, and more miles, and mountains of miles!

I am in the middle of a burnout period with running right now. It’s a sad sick cycle. One which I know to how to break but I as I sit here writing this on a grey gloomy misty day, I just don’t want to!

I have been running strong the last few months. Well, all year, really. Right now, I have not run in more than a week. I have continued to eat as if I am running strong which means I am not feeling so great and I have packed on a few pounds.

 

This is the argument in my head…I don’t want to run, but you need to run, no, I need to rest, but if you run, you will feel better!

To break this cycle, I simply need to get back out there. Simple. Slow. Fun. After two or three of these recovery runs, I’ll be back in the swing of things.

 

I don’t have the motivation.

I have a big race on Saturday – a 46 miler. I tell myself it’s good that I rest. I feel icky on the inside.

I need to go for a run.

This cycle is real and happens whenever anyone gives perhaps too much of themselves to work or a hobby. The key is stepping back to find the joy again. Much easier said than done.

The lesson here, you are not alone. Your cycle of burnout is normal.

Get back out there!

Leave a Reply

