Goin’ Fast

“I’m just a big hairy American winning machine, you know?” – Ricky Bobby, Talladega Nights

When I was in my mid-twenties I owned a motorcycle (Wow, that sentence makes me sound old).  One of the more enjoyable, and stupid, things to do on a motorcycle is to drive fast at night.  The small cone of light put off by the headlight and the road rushing by underneath, makes you feel like you are flying.

nightriding

I have since gotten too old, and “burdened” with too many responsibilities to ride a motorcycle.  My newer, much safer way of satiating my need for speed is with sprints.  As long distance runners, especially ultrarunners, we focus on going long and slow.  This strategy can get a bit boring and your muscles adapt and get used to the stress.  Running intervals allows me to engage different muscles and train in a different manner.  These intervals also bring about new soreness.  After running 10 intervals of about 200 meters each, my quads are screaming.  I end up spending the next few days walking pretty slow, limping, and enjoying the feeling of going fast for just a few moments.

Leave a Reply

