Getting Old is not for the Weak

My wife ran 33 miles this weekend.

For me on the other hand, health and wellness has not been very good this week.  I woke up Sunday at 3AM with a raging headache and sore throat.  I spent the rest of the day coughing and struggling to stay awake.  By bedtime Sunday night, at 8:30PM, the cough was in full force.  Night 2 with little to no sleep.  I managed to make it to work but I only lasted until Noon.  By bedtime Monday night, a little bit closer to 9PM, the cough had subsided a little and I was finally able to get some sleep.  I spent Tuesday home from work resting and recovering from the cold.  Wednesday morning got off to a normal start and at 7AM as we were walking out the door I stopped to put something in the trash.  I felt a slight twinge in my lower back but I didn’t think anything of it.  By 9AM I was beginning to feel uncomfortable and having difficulty walking.  At 11AM I called my wife and begged her to come get me as I was unable to stand or walk.  I managed to shuffle in a bent over position, down three flights of stairs and roll into the car.  After a trip to urgent care, an injection of painkillers and muscle relaxer pills, I am now able to stand at almost a 45 degree angle.  I am now confined to the couch waiting for another round of drugs to work their magic.  I’m too old for this “stuff”.

Leave a Reply

